Favourite Sewing Books

A few of my favourite sewing books at the moment.


Style Stitches by Amy Butler

Seams to Me By Anna Maria Horner

Sew a Metre by Rebecca Yaker & Patricia Hoskins

Weekend Sewing by Heather Ross

Encyclopedia of Sewing and Fabric Crafts by Martha Stewart

Simple Sewing by Lotta Jansdotter (on loan to friend)

Origami Organizer

First project from this book, first glance, impossible, challenging, lots of seaming, yes , lots of ironing, yes but not so good when the day is extremely warm. I was roasting! I took time to press exactly on the guidelines. I absolutely love the projects in Sew a Metre (One Yard Wonder.) It is amazing what you can create with just one metre of fabric. My choice of fabric may not be the best, I have to admit. I should have used something more geometric with a smaller pattern. We had a public holiday, shops were closed, I was desperate! I have plans to make another with another fabric and also the Hanging Wall Pocket.

I haven’t forgotten about my Weekender Bag by Amy Butler. Finished the bag sometime ago but never got round to taking shots of it.

Weekender Bag Amy Butler

I also made a little matching weekend pouch for it too from left over fabric, lined with the same charcoal fabric as the bag. I love the cuteness of this pouch but most of all the interior, there are no visible seams.

Lined Pouch

I’m just patiently waiting for Mr Snobs to wisk me away for a romantic weekend to some exotic location…..patiently waiting, waiting, waiting……..


15 responses to “Favourite Sewing Books

Leave a comment