Silky Textured Shawl…..

Textured Shawl Recipe, Malabrigo Silk Merino ~ 3 skeins ~ Cape Cod~ 5.5mm needles.

shawl 3

CO 5sts, knit 2 rows.
I followed the increase pattern until I got 35st.

Textured pattern, I had one extra st before the centre st which I knitted, M1L, slm, k centre st, slm, M1R, K1 then continued with the pattern.
Wrong side, K2, purl to last 2 sts, K2.

16 rows in st st
16 rows in textured pattern
16 rows in st st
14 rows in textured pattern
16 rows in st st
12 rows in textured pattern
12 rows in st st
12 rows in textured pattern
22 rows in garter st

If you cast off tightly, I would suggest you go up a needle size.

shawl 2

Twilight handspun Shetland 2 ply, purchased at the Spinning Guiild at the weekend. Approx 220yrds…what weight? No idea, maybe sports weight. Shetland is so lovely to spin, its not the softess of fibers but is a great fiber for a newbie.

Picnik twilight

On the bobbin right now is a batt of BFL that I dyed almost to a semi solid lilac, really intense in colour and so hard to photograph. Im spinning this as fine as I can get it, then will dye up another batt in maybe a variegated colour and ply them both, see what interesting handspun I can come up with! I want yardage, plenty yardage so I can knit it up into something.

Picnik collage

Spinning is addictive, is an obsession, I can’t get enough of it! I must knit it up though…….Have I knitted anything with them?, Um, well. no but I will.

21 responses to “Silky Textured Shawl…..

Leave a Reply

