Lady Malabrigo Geranio….

Back in December of 2007, my dear friend Paula sent me a lovely gift….four lovely skeins of Malabrigo Worsted in colour Geranio. I knew I had to find the perfect pattern for this, as it was something special and so I waited and waited until the right pattern came along. That pattern was The Lady February Sweater by Flint Knits.

Of course you probably know by now that this is the second one I’ve knitted and before you say it…..yes I do have a strange habit of knitting two or more of everything. I just like to see what things look like in a different yarn and colour.

I had wanted to use the Malabrigo as my first choice of yarn but four skeins, I knew this was not enough for my size unless I starve myself or go on a crash diet and knit the smallest size available. BUT….as you know it, I’m very lucky. You see….Paula was overcome by the fumes of Malabrigo in her LYS and she walked out with 10 skeins of that colour, four already landed on my doorstep but I had to find the 5th skein in same dye lot and colour and who came to my rescue…..Paula. She kindly sent me the 5th so I could complete my sweater. Thank you so much, my Lady Sweater is finished and I am so happy with it but of course it couldn’t have happened without the generosity of one wonderful knitter.

Ok….enough of the waffling, time for some pictures. The sweater is modelled on my little sister. She is the worst photographer, ever…she shakes so badly it’s unbelieveable!!! Every picture was a total blurr!!

  • Malabrigo Worsted 4.5 Skeins
  • Needles 4.5mm and 5.0mm
  • Mods: YO’s instead of M1 for raglan increases and KFB instead of YO’s for eyelets, which created a nice raised effect kind of st.
  • Buttons on right of sweater 18 repeats for the sleeves and 21 for the body.
  • Buttonhole spacing 2.5cm but when I got to the final buttonhole I was a few rows short after completing the YO’s, so I did a few rows of the garter st until it reached the 2.5cm, added the final buttonhole, then continued a further 4 rows of the garter st before beginning the gull lace. My buttonholes, I started at the end of the row rather than the beginning and by making sure my buttonholes were on the right hand side before starting rows 2 and 4 of the gull pattern, this helped me keep track that the buttons would remain on the right hand with the right side of the gull lace showing. I hope I made sense….or am I talking riddles????

Finding the right buttons was probably the hardest thing!! I had everyone….and I mean everyone helping me in the department store, the cashier, the sales assistant, my sister, two other ladies also shopping for buttons, a gentleman sitting patiently waiting for his wife. I had a whole selection of buttons scattered about!! It was hilarious but finally, everyone seemed to think these were the right ones, and these were even my dad’s first choice!!

Who likes alternating yarns when knitting? I don’t, its one of the most annoying things in knitting. Although all 5 skeins were same dyelot number and colour, and almost a semi solid colour, there were sections of light and dark and I did consider snipping the lighter sections of the final skein. You can see on the sleeve the effect it has created by using just one skein, a slightly stripey effect. I carried the two skeins, alternating every row under the arm sections of the body. This helped keep the edging of the buttonhole band neat.

Paula……I hope I have inspired you to cast on your Lady Sweater in the same colourway, and anyone else who hasn’t done so. Once you have knitted this, you do feel more confident with sweater knitting and you can conquer everything….well almost!

Now I’m just waiting for the weather to become cooler so I can strut my stuff!!! One thing’s for sure, I won’t get lost in the dark and Mr Snobs will never lose me when we go out! Which one shall I wear though?

14 responses to “Lady Malabrigo Geranio….

Leave a Reply

