Classy Wicked Cardigan….


I’m testing my knitting abilities and modifying the ever so popular Wicked sweater to a cardigan. Just one of many knitted sweaters from the top down and ever so easy. I wonder why it’s taken me so long to cast on for this!!

With plenty of cables to keep the mind occupied, its a lovely fast and easy knit. Instead of joining to knit in the round, I knit back and forth of the sweater and carried the cable down either side of the cardigan. I’ve yet to add the sleeves and also the button hole band but it’s coming along together nicely. I’m chuffed with the progress but one thing……maybe my body shape is some what odd but I have a high waist line and Huuuuuggge wide hips, let alone a huge bum, and I left the decreasing of the waist line a little late. So the result is a somewhat low waist decrease!

Five skeins of DIC Classy in Black Parade, I think I will only use four. I love this yarn so much, the way it knits up, the colours and the cable definition is……wow.

see what I mean? That waist line should be slightly higher. I blame Mr Snobs for that cos all the time I was knitting and trying it on..he kept on saying, yes, its fine, its perfect. I also think it may be a tad on the baggy side too and long but its a cardigan and I need the room for extra clothing, right?

Cables and there’s lots of them around the neckline and down the front.

I wish my waist was this trim!

I’m also thinking of just adding about 4 buttons just on the top of the cardigan so it flairs out at the bottom, just for a different kind of look.

…..and the sleeves, full length of 3/4 lenght? What do you all think?

17 responses to “Classy Wicked Cardigan….

  • Jennifer

    I love your Wicked cardigan. I’ve had Wicked on my “to knit” list for some time now…but never seem to get around to knitting for me. I really love the original Wicked pattern, but have also been smitten with the cardigan version. Tough choices!!

    Out of curiousity, did you ever finish your Arwen cardigan? I don’t remember seeing any pictures of the finished product. I still want to knit myself an Arwen too. I actually have the yarn for that…now I just need to find the time. 🙂

  • belaybunny

    it’s looking great. I’d knit full-length sleeves personally. and never ask a DH if something looks ok, cos they always say “yes” without even looking up 😉

  • Emily

    It looks lovely to me! I’d go for full length sleeves, but you could always do them 3/4 to start with and then try it on (with impartial advice from a female friend!)

  • ZhiWen

    That yarn looks very soft and yummy! Love the colour too. I wish I had the courage to modify like that, I mean, increasing and decreasing on the sides is ok, but actually turning a pullover into a cardigan.. bravo!
    I think full length sleeves will suit it better.

  • Laura

    Wow that looks gorgeous!!! Good to see your knitting mojo it still going strong.

    Talk to you soon

    L

  • gilraen

    What belaybunny said with bells on 🙂

    I love it and would do full length or nearly, it would be really classy 🙂

  • stacey

    I love how the sweater is coming – I really like the cardigan take on this fabulous pattern! Nice, can’t wait for more:)

  • birdwoman

    Oooh, that’s a lovely pattern and it goes so well with the yarn you’ve chosen. Yet another pattern that I want to knit now! Personally, I would go for 3/4 length sleeves, but it depends what you’re likely to wear under it.

  • Cinders

    It looks lovely. I like the yarn

  • Patricia

    Aww ..it’s lovely. I love the cables and neckline details.
    Great job!

  • Moggle

    Fantastic mod to wicked! I may make one like this. It’s looking gorgeous.

    I say 3/4 sleeves. I’m always pushing my sleeves up.

  • jam_mam

    Very very nice again 🙂 I do need a cardigan and I do have the yarn, why can’t I get round to knitting one? You seem to do them so quickly. How is your sister btw? Hope she’s well.

  • Paula

    Wow! That is great. I love the regular pattern and am eager to see your mods. (I’m not brave/ experienced enough to modify patterns that much!!!) Way to go…

  • Yarn

    waow great works.
    Lily

  • Octopus Knits

    Great idea – and I love the color! A little ease it not a bad thing (though asking husbands if something fits is an iffy proposition) : ) I think long sleeves are more versatile… but Moggle has a point about pushing sleeves up…

    P.S. Your second Ene is gorgeous!

  • sarah

    Ohhh. LOVE this!!!

    Should I use the Dream in Colour Classy for my February Sweater? Or, the Cash Iroha?

Leave a Reply

