The Hemlock Ring Blankets….

Phew….what a blocking session I had over the weekend, on hands and knees, pin pricks, wet patches on my knees…ugh but look what I got to show you all….

hemlock-2.jpg

2 Skeins of Cascade Ecological Tarnish…(and a bit!)

DPN’s Size 5.5mm

Knitpicks 120cm circulars 6.0mm needles

15 pattern repeats

Bind Off using 5.5mm needles

hemlock-3.jpg

If it wasn’t for Debbie, I don’t think I would have completed it. Thank you again 🙂

hemlock-4.jpg

There were some issues about the ripple effect on the blanket. As you can see, its very slight in some areas but I block hard….very hard. The width of the Hemlock measures 145cm across, very big huh? I wet blocked it, wrapped it around a towel, stood on it to get rid of as much water as possible. I think some people on the KAL have steam/blocked theirs and have put sections of it under the iron to flattern the centre and the ripples. My centre star is very very flat. Overall, I am very pleased with it.

hemlock-5.jpg

I had to get an extra set of helping hands from Mr Snobs, who pulled and pinned one section whilst I did the other. It was really difficult as each section was coming undone whilst I did the other and the lack of space wasn’t helping either….and soggy jeans…eeewww!!

Someone has claimed possession of my Malabrigo Hemlock already. I don’t know how she avoided the pins but there’s one stuck right in the centre of the star!

malabrigo-hemlock.jpg

I never let Holly near my knitting or my yarns, she has no interest in them whatsoever unless it’s something I am knitting for her but this morning, I found her on my Malabrigo!!! Arrrrggghhhh!!!!! I forgot to shut the door last night and I believe she rolled around in it this morning. How could I shoooo her off? She looks so happy and comfortable. I guess it has her name on that one now….It’s Mine!

malabrigo-hemlock-3.jpg

4 skeins of Malabrigo Orchid with 35gm left over from the 4th skein.

15 repeats of the feather and fan section

DPN’s 4.0mm

Knitpicks 5mm circular needles 100cm cable

Bind Off using 5mm needles

Size 122cm full width

img_0372.jpg

img_0371.jpg

Overall I am very happy with the results, a little heavy in weight and sore on the fingers but a pleasure to knit and to watch it grow and grow into something beautiful. Thanks to everyone who have wished and hoped I’d find that *extra* bit of yarn and special thanks to Debbie.

20 responses to “The Hemlock Ring Blankets….

Leave a Reply

