Something Funny & A Stole….

Mr Snobs and I went out for a fabulous lunch with some friends during the weekend to a really trendy funky restaurant that I never knew existed. It was hidden at the back of some houses near our home. Sadly, I didn’t have my camera with me so I could take pictures of the interior, or the food we had. It was delicious, as food always does when someone cooks it for you. Later we went to different pubs/bars in the area, had one drink and moved on…kinda like a pub crawl. I was sitting drinking my orange juice (honest!!!) and this lady walked by behind all her friends. I looked and admired her dress and thought thats a pretty dress with a cute hem line but wondered why it was rising up!!! As she walked passed, I noticed her dress was tucked up behind her knickers and all was revealled!!! God….How embarassing!!! She had walked through the busy restaurant full of diners and a bar full of people and she didn’t even feel a draught on her backside!!! Everyone in the bar was sniggering at her, the men found it hilarious and the woman pointed and laughed. You just can not but laugh at it can you? Its a womans nightmare!!! Did anyone run up and tell her???……NO!!!

This weekend I didn’t do any knitting, not because I am totally bored with it or anything silly like that but my wrist has been aching oh so badly and needed a little rest. So armed with a book I sat and read but back in my mind, I so wanted to pick up my needles and start knitting again. I even picked up my knitting projects and counted the stitches hundreds of times, went and oohhh and aahhh at my stash and made a list of all the yarns I want desperately need to have in my stash 🙂 With advice of a very special person, I rested…..on strict orders!!! But, not totally….snigger!!! I blocked something.

 2.jpgSea and Shell Stole

Now why didn’t anyone tell me how difficult it is to block lace? Geeshhh!!! I struggled like a mad woman trying to get the thing straight, drafted in Mr Snobs, my sister and my mom to give me a hand and still I wasn’t happy with it. It was becoming to look like another Forest Canopy Shawl with all the pointy edges and I didn’t have any blocking wires, as that what was needed. I really should have researched on how to do this. There was a simple method to do this but me…….just jumped head first into it and it was back breaking.

1.jpg

I hear you all saying its easy….just pull and stretch but not when the shawl’s final measurements are 200cm x 40cm!! It took the entire length of the single bed and slightly over and is even taller than me!!!!

Thank goodness for a mattress that has stripes. Why?…..cos I followed the lines of the stripes and pinned it down accordingly!!! I cheated!! 🙂 I struggled with it on a towel and even with my gang of helpers, couldn’t get it right!! The mattress saved the day!!! Yay!!!

One struggling incident to the next…..how do you take a nice picture of it?

img_0730.jpg

sorry, the best I could do. So it is finally blocked to its fully glory!! The highs and lows of my Sea Shell Stole.

PS……she was wearing white knickers 😉

7 responses to “Something Funny & A Stole….

  • CJ

    the stole is breathtaking – really lovely. Nice colour too 😀 but oh no, how embarrassing for the poor woman – one reason never to wear a dress, but trousers instead!!!

  • jam_mam

    I hope they were clean!

    Stole looks wonderful, how do you photograph it? Well, you need a model to wear it of course, draped elegantly around the shoulders, flung casually over one shoulder, anyway you like but maybe you’ll need a tall model!

    Has the blocking resolved the colour change problem? There’s no nyicable diference in the photos so far, so i hope the answer is yes.

    Now, next question is, where will you wear it?

  • Sarah

    Poor woman – white knickers no less! Hilarious!

    so glad you took my advice and rested – well, at least a little rest : )

    the stole is gorgeous!!!!

  • daisie

    The poor woman! I once bought a skirt, asked when I was paying if I could keep it on and put my old one in the bag, walked round Milton Keynes shopping centre going in lots of different shops and was eventually told by another shopper a couple of hours later that the great big plastic tag that they are support to take off magnetically at the till was still dangling from my hem! :~
    where is the wonderful restaurant?
    lovely stole – but yes we really need to see it modelled 🙂

  • daisie

    The poor woman! I once bought a skirt, asked when I was paying if I could keep it on and put my old one in the bag, walked round Milton Keynes shopping centre going in lots of different shops and was eventually told by another shopper a couple of hours later that the great big plastic tag that they are supposed to take off magnetically at the till was still dangling from my hem! :~
    where is the wonderful restaurant?
    lovely stole – but yes we really need to see it modelled 🙂

  • Laura

    Oh what a pretty stole, you are getting to be the quick knitter..lol…No time for that right now. Too much sewing to do 🙂

    P.S Allie likes the sock yarn and sent you a little something in the mail.

  • Paula

    Wouldn’t you just die? After watching Saturday Night Live and Rosanne Rosannadanna (Gilda Radner–wonderful!) do the toilet-paper-on-the-shoe skit as a teen, I double and triple check before I leave a public bathroom!

    Beautiful stole! What a quick knitter you are…no wonder your wrists hurt! Get better!

    If you’re too young to know Rosanne, look here: http://www.usatoday.com/life/television/reviews/2005-02-17-snl-documentary_x.htm

Leave a Reply

